Chapter 12: The Wedding Date

Standard

Yup. Just like the movie.  I technically haven’t ever seen this flick from 2005, (in which Debra Messing decides to have a stranger pose as her date for a wedding) but essentially I did the same thing last summer.

I was attending a wedding out of town with a “Plus 1” without a plus one to invite. Hmmm. What’s a girl to do? Craigslist, of course. So I posted an ad:

“So…a friend of mine is getting married in Cincinnati in August. I am driving in from out of state to attend. Would love to have a smart, funny and overall wonderful man to join me, as most all of my friends will be there with significant others. You: conversational, able to hold your own with a group of strangers, likeable, drama and drug-free, attractive and fun (enjoying dancing is a huge plus). Not expecting a serious anything…I would just like to have a date for the event! I am 30 years old, into health and nutrition, non-smoker, and love meeting new people and being spontaneous. Shoot me an email if you think you may be up for an adventure… ”

And my inbox started to fill up… I had 20 inquiring young gents within just a few hours. My favorite said that he would attend “for $500 but no sex.” Needless to say I didn’t respond to that one.

Mr. Wedding Date ended up to be quite an experience. He approached me after the ceremony (as I was a bridesmaid) by giving me a wink and a head nod along with something that looked like a cross between a salute and a caress of his frizzy head of hair. Apparently that was the universal we-met-on-craigslist greeting. The rest of the night only got better.  While the rest of the guys were at the bar, my companion was on the dance floor in the center of the circle of the bride and her bridal party. I quickly came to realize that my ad could have been worded more specifically. The Wedding Date wasn’t lying when he responded to my post. “Enjoyed dancing”: yes. Good at dancing: no.

In the end, one of my guy friends apparently spoke with him in the men’s room and Wedding Date revealed that I just “wasn’t his type.” And…I was very ok with that.

Leave a Reply

